Home » Life » Weekend Shinanigans!

Weekend Shinanigans!

Last weekend we had a busy one, from Friday pizza dinner to partying it up on Saturday with good mates and then attending a friends daughters birthday on the Sunday…Shoo! I feel old! LOL! To kick off our wonderful (busy) weekend we made homemad pizzas, which we love doing on a Friday, if we are not beat from the weeks activities. therwise boring old yucky takeout it is! I was inspired to make this spicy meat ball pizza by @homemadewithmess . She posted a spicy meatballl pizza recipe on her blog http://homemadewithmess.wordpress.com and I just had to try it out myself. Below is my version plus Lil B’s Dad wanted a tandoori pizza which I made but did not have time to take a pic! We invited my parents over for dinner and if I should say so myself it turned out delish! They were a hit to our taste buds and the ‘parentals’thought so as well 😀

Of course I am not that good and bought ready made pizza bases (which Mumma has time to be making their own? Suree not this one!). Recipe is below. Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • Pizza Bases
  • Pizza Sauce
  • Lean Beef Mince
  • White Onion
  • Red Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Pepper of your choice
  • Jalapenos (if you so choose to add extra spice)
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Coriander (dhania as some know it)
  • Cumin spice
  • Oil

Method:

Make meatballs ahead of time by chopping white onion, coriander and adding to mince with cumin spice (and any other spices you’d like, maybe throw in a chilli or two). Combine well and set in the fridge for about 20-30 mins.

In the meantime chop all your pizza toppings (you can add as much or as little as you like, customized to your taste buds). I sliced a red onion, red pepper, had jalapenos out the jar and already chopped up mushrooms (the busy Mom way:)

Take out mince mixture and round into your hands forming little balls of meat. Fry over medium heat until browned on the outside and set aside.

Cover your pizza base in the pizza sauce and a bit of BBQ. Add the toppings (onion, mushrooms, capsicum, meatballs, jalapenos etc)

Place some more BBQ sauce on top and add some pizza topping spice. I use the one from Masterfoods (AU).

Place in the oven for 15-20 mins at 180-200 degrees celsius, depending on your oven. And serve hot with a side green salad.

I promise you once you start making your own pizzas you will NEVER buy a conventional pizza again! Homemade is just too tasty (and at least you know what is in it:)

Please let me know if you try out this pizza by commenting below or post your pic 🙂 Happy eating all!

Inspired by @homemadewithmess spicy meatball pizza

Friday= homemade pizzas 🙂

Saturday evening it was off to a friends Birthday party at their place. Lil B spent the night at his grandparents, which meant a night out with no baby talk, no screaming or saying don’t touch a thousand times. Just people our size that we could have a ‘real’ adult conversation with. Now do not get me wrong. I love chatting to my Lil B (well more babbling than anything). It makes my heart sing when I hear him saying words (the baby version words that is…Bubba, berd A.K.A Bird, soos A.K.A shoes…). I felt less guilty once I consoled myself that all of our days, weekends, months, years we’ll spend with Lil B; so when we do get to have some “adult time” with our friends we make the most of it. As now a days it is very rare. Nonetheless I think it’s a good social life balance 🙂

We had a great time at Wes’ Birthday (thanks Lu-Jerne & Wes) and made it home by 3am! It should have been earlier because Lil B’s Dad was falling asleep in the chair while people were still partying (Taxi!) and by people I mean ME! I have to admit I was struggling a bit but thought no! I am NOT going home early because these occasions don’t come around often (baby free that is). I remember the good Ol’ days when we would be driving home as the sun is rising! Hell no, not these days. A sign we are maturing (as I like to say, not getting old! LOL!). We had a little sleep in and then it was back to reality by 10am! As we had a Birthday party to attend to Sunday at 11am!!

Wesley's Birthday

Wesley’s Birthday

Ready to paaarrrttyy!

Ready to paaarrrttyy!

My big boy

My lil man trying on Dad’s shoes for size 🙂

Lil B is not old enough to appreciate a ‘big kids’ party but he had a really good time. All while Mum and Dad are trying to keep their eyes open with match sticks! Just watching him interact at the little kids play ground was enough to keep me awake and realize just how fast he is growing! To treasure every moment, no matter how I am feeling, and take as many pics as I can. Because one moment their innocent little beings who are entertaining you and teaching you, and making you lose your hair all while being able to love them unconditionally and the next they are all grown up ready to move out of home, have kids of their own and you look back and think where did the time go!? I don’t want to be that person, someone who looks back and cannot remember where the time went or the events of ones life. Thank goodness for iPhones with awesome cameras and Instagram, and Smilebox…What did we do without you’ll?? Oh yes! We had regular cameras and had to print out the photos. Bleh! I do not have time to put photos in photo albums and truth be told I do not look at the photo albums that often to be printing the 1000’s of photos we have. Now all our photo’s is stored on our computer (where I honestly spend a lot of my time) and if we need to print them we do so. Ain’t technology amazing! (Note to self: We need to get an external hard drive, in case of fire, floods etc!)

After the party we got home, relaxed (well Lil B and his Dad did. Mum had to cook :/). When I did get to relax I made a cuppa and was thinking what great memories we have created this past weekend with our friends and family, and how many more great memories to come :). We had an eventful and fun weekend. We have great memories post Lil B but since Lil B has arrived all these moments just seem that more imprinted in our brain…Forever! Hope you all had a good weekend!

Thanks again to The Bouveries and Rouessart’s, friends and family for making our weekend that more memorable 🙂 X

Tayla's 8th Birthday

Tayla’s 8th Birthday

Have an AUsome week!

Lameese X

Leave a Reply

